Assorted…

This post is going to be all random.  But wtf, it’s my blog, right?  What’s the point of having your own blog if you can’t be as random as you want?

So, we got this little story app for my iPhone called “Princess Chocolate.”   The story is super cute.  I mean, ok, we are dealing with a princess and lots of pink, as usual.  But my little one adores chocolate so this was right up her alley.  The story is all good until the Princess is admonished, not for stealing chocolate from everyone (which she does), but for getting muddy and being too noisy.  Fuck THAT shit.  So I told Bella, that is utter nonsense.  Princesses get dirty and noisy too!  I told her if she goes out today and gets really really extra muddy, I will give her some chocolate.  Hahaha!  So now she is outside rolling around in the mud and digging for worms.  That’s my girl!

The second thing I wanted to talk about is how yesterday, an instructor at our local kids gym told Bella a secret and then said “You have to promise not to tell.. pinky swear?”  This infuriated me.  (Internally.)  Externally I said “Please don’t tell her that.”  I am sure this girl did not think of it;  she is very young, and probably just wanted to make Bella feel special, and it was a silly secret and totally harmless.  But I want Bella to be in the habit of telling me things, and being skeptical whenever someone tells her not to tell me something.   That’s pretty much exactly what someone grooming a kid will do, start them out with easy silly fun little secrets.

Of course as she gets older, she is going to have secrets from me.   I’m not delusional about this, really!  The difference is that she will be older and it will be her choice, vs. a trusted adult saying that to her.  Does that make sense?

Finally, I hurt my hip.  I don’t know what I did, but if my body twists the slightest bit I have excruciating pain in my hip.  You wouldn’t believe how much twisting we do every day without even noticing.  Ugh.  This getting older thing sucks ass.

2 responses to “Assorted…

  1. Courtney Ostaff

    That is a stupid app. I would totally write the developer a note.

    I’d be a little freaked about secrets too, like that!!

    spinal cord pain sucks!! *hugs*

    I prescribe a massage and a hot tub. 😉

  2. We have some really cute board books that someone got us that have 4 different types of princesses. I don’t remember all of them, but two are Princess Messy and Princess Party. I like them because they show that there are all different types of princesses, but they are all equally happy with their individuality. I don’t mind princess stuff, but yeah. All princesses being perfect and clean? Gimme a break.

    Secrets scare me too.

Leave a Reply

